HomeSportFootballMusa Absent, Luton’s Gabriel Osho In For Nigeria’s Friendlies Against Ghana, Mali

Musa Absent, Luton’s Gabriel Osho In For Nigeria’s Friendlies Against Ghana, Mali

Captain Ahmed Musa has been left out of the Super Eagles’ squad for the March friendly games against Ghana and Mali with Luton’s Gabriel Osho handed his first Nigeria’s call up.

 Musa was part of the Nigerian side that reached the final of the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) but did not play a single minute in the competition.

Osho, who was born to Nigerian parents in England, will have the opportunity to play for the Super Eagles after agreeing to feature for the three-time African champions.

Ihefu SC of Tanzanian star Benjamin Tanimu also got his maiden call-up for the Super Eagles.

While Bayer Leverkusen’s Nathan Tella and Fisayo Dele-Bashiru, Tyronne Ebuehi, Cyril Dessers, Wilfred Ndidi, and Sadiq Umar made a comeback to the team, players who featured at the AFCON dominate the team.

Nigeria will take on Ghana on March 22nd before playing Mali on the 26th of the same month. The games are preparatory for the World Cup qualifiers later in June when the Super Eagles face South Africa.

The Super Eagles will head into the game without a head coach after Jose Peseiro left the post following the expiration of his contract. But the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) says it has started the search for a new coach and is calling for applications.


Goalkeepers: Stanley Nwabili (Chippa United), Francis Uzoho (Omonia), Ojo Olorunleke (Enyimba).

Defenders: Calvin Bassey (Fulham), Jamilu Collins (Cardiff City), Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista), Semi Ajayi (West Brom), Kenneth Omeruo (Kasımpasa), Chidozie Awaziem (Boavista), Gabriel Osho (Luton Town), Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce), Tyronne Ebuehi (Empoli), Benjamin Tanimu (Ihefu SC).

Midfielders: Alex Iwobi (Fulham), Frank Onyeka (Brentford), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City), Alhassan Yusuf (Antwerp), Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge).

Forwards: Moses Simon (Nantes), Nathan Tella (Bayer Leverkusen), Fisayo Dele-Bashiru (Hatayspor), Ademola Lookman (Atalanta), Sadiq Umar (Real Sociedad), Victor Osimhen (Napoli), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City), Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest), Cyriel Dessers (Rangers).


Most Popular

Recent Comments